Table of Contents | Next Article - A. Rabatin                     Article (Adobe Acrobat)

NEWS from your Faculty Organization

by Eldon Baldwin (President, Faculty Senate)
and Angie Anderson (Vice President, Faculty Senate)

We are writing this article as we anticipate the arrival of Spring Break, and yet by the time you read it, final exams will be upon us. We started the semester with the conclusion of elections for Adjunct Faculty Delegates and Alternates to the Faculty Senate to represent the following areas:

  • Business, Management, and Technology
      Delegate: Rik Karlsson, Business
      Alternate: Barbara Cord, Business
  • Degree-Extension Centers
      Delegate: Renee Madden, Business
      Alternate: (Only one nomination)
  • Educational Development
      Delegate: Verence Moore, Developmental Mathematics
      Alternate: Janet Carlson, Developmental Mathematics
  • English and Humanities
      Delegate: Sharon Saylors, English
      Alternate: Alvin Parrish, English
  • Learning Resources
      Delegate: Alease ďChristyĒ Wright
      Alternate: Nancy Dalzell
  • Sciences, Mathematics, and Health Technologies
      Delegate: Fred Sanford, Mathematics
      Alternate: Joellen Gray, Mathematics
  • Social Sciences, Health and Human Performance
      Delegate: Pamela Mosby, Health and Human Performance
      Alternate: Thomas Orum, History
  • Student Development Services
      Delegate: Karol Taylor, Career Assessment and Planning
      Alternate: Nichole Richmond, Career Assessment and Planning
  • Workforce Development and Continuing Education

  (No delegates or alternates elected)

Bill Gerson and Alan Mickelson deserve credit for starting the movement to enhance the inclusion of adjunct faculty within the Faculty Organization. Ray Harris continues to chair the Adjunct Committee. Ed Sapp performed the duties of Adjunct Faculty Liaison to the Instruction Office until he received a full-time position at UMUC last fall. Rik Karlsson has now assumed Edís duties. With a lot of input from Ray, Ed, and Rik, we modified our Bylaws last spring to include adjunct faculty as full voting members of the Faculty Organization. The adjunct delegates and alternates named above have assumed their new roles, and we are enjoying their participation in our Faculty Senate meetings and activities.

We are now preparing to conduct annual spring Faculty Organization elections, which will also be complete by the time you read this. Did you remember to vote? In accordance with our revised Bylaws, these electronic elections were originally scheduled for February, but the Senate decided to delay the elections for approximately one month to allow more time to study the potential impact of the Instruction Office reorganization upon the following fourteen areas that are presently represented by Full‑time Faculty Delegates and Alternates:

  • Accounting and Business Management
  • Allied Health
  • Computer Information Systems and Engineering Technology
  • Criminal Justice, Forensic Science and Legal Studies
  • Educational Development
  • English
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Humanities
  • Learning Resources
  • Mathematics/Engineering
  • Nursing
  • Science
  • Social Sciences
  • Student Development Services

Ultimately, the Senate decided not to make any changes in representation until the reorganization takes effect this summer. In the fall, we will need to update the Bylaws to reflect changes in division and area names. At the same time, we can also consider proposals for changes in the way faculty are represented by their full-time and adjunct delegates and alternates.

Our revised Bylaws include the new Faculty Handbook and Bylaws Committee. In preparation for our Middle States accreditation visit next year, this committee is working closely with the Instruction Office to rewrite the Faculty Handbook. Our goal is to transform the present handbook into an easy-to-use, on-line, up-to-date source of information for all members of the faculty. Included in the new handbook will be the Faculty Evaluation Plan and the Faculty Promotion and Tenure Application Procedure, both of which are now published separately. You can find all three documents in their present form on Dr. Zís Web site:

Membership on the Faculty Handbook and Bylaws Committee includes Eldon Baldwin, Abigail Bardi, Barbara Cord, Ray Harris, Danny Jones, Nelson Kofie, Robert Mason, and Margaret Warner. Also working with the committee in liaison capacity are Cathy Cant (Department Chairs), Clyde Ebenreck (Faculty Grievance Committee), June Fordham (Instruction Office), and Paula Guy (WDCE). Committee membership is open, and we want to further enhance the age, experience, and cultural diversity of our group, so if you are interested in our work, feel free to volunteer.

Even if you do not want to become a member of this committee, you can still help us with our work on the handbook. Review our three existing online documents, and tell us what else you want to find in your new Faculty Handbook. Search the Web and ask your friends and colleagues for good examples of faculty handbooks from other colleges and universities. We will be working through the summer, with the goal of having a new draft handbook ready for your review when 10-month and adjunct faculty return in August. Please send your suggestions to, and I will share them with the other committee members.


The Instructional Area Newsletter, Volume 19, No. 3

Spring 2004